Saturday, February 4, 2023
HomeIndian News8 Cong MLAs be part of BJP; CM Sawant says 'Congress Chhodo...

8 Cong MLAs be part of BJP; CM Sawant says ‘Congress Chhodo Yatra’ will start now

Panaji: Eight Goa Congress MLAs together with former Chief Minister Digambar Kamat and Chief of Opposition Michael Lobo joined the Bharatiya Janata Social gathering in Goa on Wednesday.

All of the eight MLAs Digambar Kamat, Michael Lobo, Delilah Lobo, Rajesh Phaldesai, Kedar Naik, Sankalp Amonkar, Aleixo Sequeira and Rudolf Fernandes joined BJP after assembly Chief Minister Pramod Sawant on the Meeting complicated within the day.

“We’ve got merged with BJP with a majority of two/third to strengthen the fingers of PM Modi and CM Pramod Sawant… ‘Congress Chhodo, BJP ko Jodo’, stated former Congress MLA Michael Lobo.

In the meantime, Goa CM Sawant additionally took a jibe at Rahul Gandhi-led Bharat Jodo Yatra and stated that “Congress Chhodo Yatra will start from Goa now” whereas welcoming the leaders.

The BJP already holds a majority of 25 within the Home of 40 of which its personal 20 MLAs with two others from the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Social gathering and three unbiased leaders.

After the becoming a member of of eight Congress MLAs, its rely will rise to 33.

The event got here amid Congress chief Rahul Gandhi-led Bharat Jodo Yatra to fight the BJP-led Centre and awaken the nation’s individuals to the hazards of financial inequalities, social polarisation, and political centralization.

The Yatra contains Padayatras, rallies, and public conferences which might be attended by the senior Congress leaders together with Sonia Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra.

Days in the past on September 4, Gujarat Youth Congress President Vishwanathsinh Vaghela resigned from his put up which is taken into account to be a serious jolt for the social gathering.

On September 2, social gathering chief Rajinder Prasad, who can be the son of late Grasp Beli Ram Sharma from Nowshera, Rajouri, resigned from all posts and the first membership of the social gathering. Prasad blamed the ‘coterie’ system for being a purpose for the ‘demise’ of the social gathering.

In current months, Rajinder Prasad and several other high-profile leaders have give up Congress. The exit of veteran chief Ghulam Nabi Azad from the Congress, months earlier than the upcoming Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh Meeting polls, in addition to the final elections in two years’ time, dealt an enormous blow to social gathering.

Jaiveer Shergill, who’s a lawyer by career and was one of many distinguished ones amongst younger Congress leaders, on August 24, tendered his resignation claiming that the imaginative and prescient of the decision-makers not was in sync with the aspirations of the youth.

Earlier this 12 months in Might, senior Congress chief Kapil Sibal, a distinguished face of the G-23 group of dissenting leaders, resigned from the social gathering and filed nomination papers for the Rajya Sabha elections as an unbiased candidate backed by the Samajwadi Social gathering (SP).

Former Punjab Congress chief Sunil Jakhar too parted methods with the Congress in Might this 12 months.

Former Union Regulation Minister Ashwani Kumar in February additionally resigned from Congress after a protracted affiliation of 46 years with the social gathering.

Again in Might, Gujarat Patidar chief Hardik Patel had give up the social gathering after he felt that he was being “ignored”.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments