Saturday, April 1, 2023
HomeIndian NewsWith Australia & Costa Rica, listed here are the ultimate 32 groups...

With Australia & Costa Rica, listed here are the ultimate 32 groups that certified

For the Fifa World Cup 2022 in Qatar, after which there have been 32.

Joel Campbell’s third minute strike was all that Costa Rica wanted, because the Central American crew held on to beat New Zealand 1-0 within the inter-continental playoff, and win the final remaining berth for the 2022 Fifa World Cup.

This got here a day after Australia beat Peru 5-4 on penalties to ebook the thirty first spot for the mega occasion in Qatar, beginning in November.

There are an excellent variety of notable names who is not going to be on the World Cup this yr – Mohamed Salah with Egypt, Zlatan Ibrahimovic with Sweden, and the Italian crew beneath Roberto Mancini that received Euro 2020.

However it additionally marked the return of Canada into the World Cup fold for the primary time since 1986, and Gareth Bale’s Wales, who will play on the occasion for the primary time since 1958.

The World Cup finals is to be performed from November 21 to December 18.

Right here’s a have a look at the groups that made it to the ultimate 32:

Europe (UEFA)

13 groups certified for the World Cup from this confederation.

Serbia, Spain, Switzerland, France, Belgium, Denmark, Netherlands, Croatia, England, and Germany made it by as winners of the ten teams. Portugal, Poland and Wales later progressed after taking part in by a second stage of qualifiers.

South America (CONMEBOL)

Solely 4 groups made it by from South America this time, as Peru misplaced within the inter-continental qualifiers to Australia.

The same old suspects Brazil and Argentina had been fast to safe qualification. Uruguay too managed to get by in third place, after which Ecuador completed fourth to wrap up the CONMEBOL direct entries.

Africa (CAF)

This was the primary confederation to have accomplished its qualification course of. Ghana, Senegal, Tunisia, Morocco and Cameroon had been the 5 groups out of 54 competing to say the World Cup spots reserved for African nations.

Asia (AFC)

Qatar, by advantage of being hosts, had already secured qualification. Becoming a member of them by direct entries are Saudi Arabia, Japan, Iran and South Korea. Australia received their inter-continental playoff in opposition to Peru to make it a file six groups from AFC.

North America (CONCACAF)

Canada stunned the sector by topping the qualification spherical to earn a direct entry, and make it to the World Cup for the primary time since 1986. In second place was Mexico, adopted by america making up the three direct entry spots.

Costa Rica later joined the fold after successful the inter-continental playoff in opposition to New Zealand. That additionally meant that no crew from Oceania could be competing this yr.


Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands

Group B: England, Iran, USA, Wales

Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland

Group D: France, Australia, Denmark, Tunisia

Group E: Spain, Costa Rica, Germany, Japan

Group F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia

Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon

Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, South Korea

With AFP inputs



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments